A Seed of Faith


And God blessed Noah and his sons, and said unto them, Be fruitful, and multiply, and replenish the earth. — Genesis 9:1

Someone bought and gave me and my children 1 whole watermelon and 1 whole cantaloupe over the weekend. I took both of the fruits and put them in the refrigerator so they could become cold. The next day, I went into the refrigerator, took out both fruits and placed them on the counter. Next, I took out my cutting knife and sharpener and began to sharpen my cutting knife. When the knife was ready, I took out my cutting board, placed the first fruit on the board and proceeded to cut into it. As I cut into it all around, my children came to watch. From the oldest to the youngest, they all watched with anticipation and expectancy to receive some of the fruit. Once I made it all around, I broke the fruit in half and in half again, and then in half again, and in half once more. I sliced each section into segments. This would make it simpler for me to cut the fruit into chunks or portions, making it more than enough for us all to be able to eat from. When I had finished with the first fruit, I went to the next fruit and did the same again. After cutting both of the fruits, I reached and grabbed two bowls to put them in from the shelf. I rinsed them out and put the chunks of fruit in them. Next, I put them in the refrigerator and in about an hour, we were able to have fresh watermelon and cantaloupe nicely chilled and sweet.

In the above verse, God told Noah and his sons to be fruitful and multiply and replenish the earth after he blessed them.

You see, just like in the beginning before the flood, God gave Noah and his wife everything they would need to live a blessed life [to be fruitful and multiply]. They had a family, they had animals, they had food, they had a mode of transportation, and they had God protecting them and guiding them in the midst of a storm — they were wealthy; they were blessed.

This is the evidence that we all now have to know that God is the God of provision, not lack. God is the God of abundance, not barrenness.

I remember hearing the story of Jack and the beanstalk when I was a child. The one thing I couldn’t understand was why did Jack walk around with those three beans for all of that time and never sow them. Here it was he had sold the cow, looking foolish to everyone, yet, he didn’t sow the seed — or did he?

Now the Lord had said unto Abram, Get thee out of thy country, and from thy kindred, and from thy father’s house, unto a land that I will shew thee: And I will make of thee a great nation, and I will bless thee, and make thy name great; and thou shalt be a blessing: — Genesis 12:1-2

When God called and commanded Abraham to leave the place he knew and go to the place he [God] would show him, I bet [like Noah] he looked and sounded foolish to everyone else. However, something on the inside of him [the Holy Spirit] told him do it!

I remember when the Lord told me to leave the land I came to know for 25 years. He sent me to a place I had never been, and had never even imagined I would ever have to go to. A few years later, he [God] would send me to Georgia and tell me this is my promiseland; this is the place he planned for me long before he formed me in my mother’s womb to give me and my descendants. I believed God in my heart and still do. It would require me [and still does] to only focus on what God says and not what anyone else says. It would cause me to see only what God sees and not what anyone else sees. It would cause me to hear only what God hears and not what anyone else hears. It would cause me to lose my natural senses and enhance my supernatural senses — MY FAITH.

Now unto him that is able to do exceeding abundantly above all that we ask or think, according to the power that worketh in us, — Ephesians 3:20

The first step Jack needed to make was to leave his home. They were living in poverty and could not continue to live like that. Someone had to step out and that someone was Jack. So Jack left home with all the money they had [the cow], went into town and sold it. In exchange he receives three beans. When he lets his family know what he had received, they laughed at him. Jack continued to believe that he had received a good thing. And he did. Those beans, were actually seeds. Seeds that needed to be planted in good soil. I don’t know if Jack realized that by sowing those seeds he would reap a harvest, but God sure did. God knows that when we sow our seed of faith, we will receive a return greater than what we sowed. It’s just like an investor. They consider the investment, before making an investment. Well, the same is with God, only with God you will surely reap a harvest when you obey him fully and not doubt in your heart.

So Jack sows the seeds and three beanstalks appear. When the beanstalks appear, a giant appears. Can’t you relate? As soon as things begin to look fruitful in the natural, the enemy wants to come in. I’m sure it looked the same way during David’s time. Here was David tending to his sheep, and then Goliath comes stepping in huffing and puffing. But with his seed of faith [the rock] David was able to kill his giant; just like Jack and just like you.

For all they did cast in of their abundance; but she of her want did cast in all that she had, even all her living. — Mark 12:44

So she went from him, and shut the door upon her and upon her sons, who brought the vessels to her; and she poured out. –2 Kings 4:5

And she went, and sat her down over against him a good way off, as it were a bow shot: for she said, Let me not see the death of the child. And she sat over against him, and lift up her voice, and wept. — Genesis 21:16

What do you give when all you have is your faith?

The answer — YOUR FAITH.

By sowing your seed of faith in God, you are able to grow and move mountains [kill giants, overcome obstacles, be who God created you to be]. If you look at the situation and claim it as your final resting place, it then becomes your grave. But if you will rise above the situation, then you are no longer dead, but you my dear friend are alive!

Ezekiel 37:3 says, And he said unto me, Son of man, can these bones live? And I answered, O Lord GOD, thou knowest.

I like Ezekiel’s response to the Lord. Only God knows the truth. Remember that on today. Remember that Jesus is the way, the truth, and the life. (John 14:6) The plans that God has for you are to prosper you. They are to give you hope and a future [expected end]. However, you won’t be able to obtain the expected end or promise if you give in to the situation or circumstance or run in fear of the giant because he is [appears to be] bigger than you. Remember God is greater than all of us. God is in control. God is the Creator. Choose to listen to God and obey all he tells you and he will cause your enemies and every plan set to trap you to fail. He will keep you in perfect peace. He will keep you from being sick, he will keep you from being in debt, he will keep you from living on the streets. He will keep you, but you are going to have to surrender your plans [your ways] for his plans [his ways]. God knows what it means to live a blessed life, not this world. Submit to God and the devil will flee.

You know, I was under a heavy attack when it came to starting this ministry and opening the doors of the church. I was still housing some fear in me, because of the name “pastor”. It wasn’t that I didn’t know who I was, but the response from the people is what had me a bit low key with it. What I needed to remind myself is that God sees everything. And when I pray to God and could share those fears with him [although he already knew] God would deliver me. When I heard someone else say, “Don’t put that [being a pastor] on me!” I was pierced. I couldn’t understand why it affected me so, until God revealed to me, that I too was hiding. And then came yesterday [Glory to God…Hallelujah!]. The Lord said, Pastor, get up and get dressed. So I got up and got dressed and went and did all he had commanded me to do and watched the Lord fight my battles for me. It wasn’t me, it was all the Lord. If it were up to me, I would have still been sitting there saying in my smallest voice, “But I am a pastor.” Nope, yesterday I rose up and said I AM A PASTOR and walked in it.

Maybe you that are reading this [or listening] is experiencing the same thing. You keep doing everything else except the main thing you need to be doing. I pray that this message will help you by encouraging and inspiring you to be who God created you to be. You don’t have anything to be ashamed of. (Isaiah 54) You serve the one and only true and living God. You have no need to fear or be ashamed. (2 Timothy 1:7) Rise up today in spirit and in truth and begin walking in your calling as a pastor today. Seek God like Solomon for the order and wisdom and knowledge; seek no one else, only God. Seek him for what your message will be on Sunday. Sit with him, pray to him, worship him, praise him; do all that he is requiring of you. And I tell you with every bit of assurance in Jesus Christ, what you begin to sow today in faith will increase and multiply on the morrow. I’m telling you it will.

You see the one thing that was so filling for me with the fruit was looking at all of those seeds. It takes one seed to grow one fruit; and it takes one fruit to produce many seeds or even one big one. What am I saying? God wants us to reap a harvest so that our harvest can bless many others. May today be the day that you rise up and serve the Lord your God and see what he will do for you. Every time fear or doubt creeps up, kill it with your faith. Speak the word and you will win every time.

Be encouraged. Be inspired. Be who God created you to be.

Pastor Bella Grace

 

Leave a Reply

